Ontario Storms Site!  

Go Back   Ontario Storms Site! > Ontario Storms Forums > The Truck Stop: Storm Talk & Chit-Chat

The Truck Stop: Storm Talk & Chit-Chat General talk on past, current, and future storms - all talk about UPCOMING storms goes here

Old 06-17-2012, 04:43 PM
Administrator

Default Slow storm season

I keep track of the # of thunderstorms that happen where I live (storms personally witnessed at home), and this year is much slower than years previous.

# of thunderstorms up to this point (Jun.17)

2008 - 12
2009 - 10
2010 - 15
2011 - 10
This year so far - 5

Old 06-19-2012, 09:42 AM

Default Re: Slow storm season

Hi I'm new to this great site which I found while searching for some theories as to why storm systems usually never make it to St Catharines.They seem to dissipate as they approach the Niagara area from the west and redevelop to the east. A dry slot sometimes develops and the storms go south and/or north of the area.It seems it may be because our position between the lakes and perhaps winds or lake temperatures may be the issue.It is my feeling that going back perhaps 10-20 years ago the frequency and intensity of the the storms was much greater as I still remember the "Twister" incident at the drive-in on hwy 20 and my flooded basement because of severe storm in 06/97? which took out around 280 hydro line fuses.Any thoughts would be appreciated as a I enjoy a good storm(without a flooded basement) and yes you do sense some frustration.Perhaps I have to move to Windsor?
Old 06-19-2012, 02:01 PM
Administrator

I dont' think we get any less storms than anyone else really. It might seem like it the last few years, but on average, we're still getting as many storms as other places. Ever area goes through a low once in awhile. Maybe this is our low. We haven't had a severe storm yet this season, but the season is young.